Travel Tips : Regions and provinces of Thailand

There are different ways of dividing Thailand in regions. I use the system of 5 regions, but there are different 5-region systems. I follow basically the system that the Thai Meteorology Department is using.

North Thailand
With mountains, hill-tribes and culture from Myanmar and China and  provinces Mae Hong Son, Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Phayao, Nan, Lamphun, Lampang, Phrae, Uttaradit, Tak, Sukhothai, Phitsanulok, Kamphang Phet, Phichit, Phetchabun, Uthai Thani and Nakhon Sawan. Making a total of 17 provinces.

North-East Thailand (also called Isan)
With the khorat plateau, famous as being the rice-barn of Thailand and  provinces Nakhon Ratchasima, Buriram, Si Saket, Surin, Ubon Ratchathani, Kalasin, Loei, Mukdahan, Nakhon Phanom, Bung Khan, Nong Bua Lamphu, Nong Khai, Sakhon Nakhon, Udon Thani, Amnat Charoen, Chaiyaphum, Khon Kaen, Maha Sarakam, Roi Et and Yasothon. Making in total 20 provinces.

Central Thailand
The economic center of Thailand with industry and rivers and provinces Ratchaburi, Samut Songkhram, Samut Sakhon, Nonthaburi, Bangkok, Samut Prakhan, Kanchanaburi, Nakhon Pathom, Pathum Thani, Nakhon Nayok, Saraburi, Ayutthaya, Suphanburi, Ang Thong, Chainat, Lopburi and Sing Buri. It is a bit weird because Bangkok is not really a province and sometimes the term "Greater Bangkok" is used and this includes provinces like Nonthaburi and Samut Prakan. And some times Phetchaburi is included in "Central Thailand", but sometimes it is included in "South Thailand". Making a total of 17 provinces.

East Thailand
With Thailands chemical- and car industry, but also Pattaya, Koh Samet, Koh Chang and Koh Mak and provinces Chachoengsao, Chonburi, Rayong, Chantaburi, Trat, Sa Kaeo and Prachinburi.  Making a total of 7 provinces.

South Thailand
With palm plantations but also Koh Samui, Krabi, Koh Tao and Patong and provinces Phetchaburi, Prachuap Khiri Kan, Chumphon, Ranong, Phang Nga, Surat Thani, Phuket, Krabi, Nakhon Si Tammarat, Trang, Phatalung, Satun, Songkhla, Pattani, Yala and Narathiwat. Sometimes Phetchaburi province is included in "South Thailand" or in "Central Thailand". Making a total of 16 provinces.

BTW weather-wise it might be a good idea to split South Thailand in East-Coast (Gulf of Thailand) and West-Coast (Andaman Sea).

Popular posts from this blog

A few days Bang Saray

Traveling in Uttaradit province in North Thailand

The mighty Mekong River at the Golden Triangle

Traveling in Tak province in North Thailand

Traveling in Bueng Kan province in North-East Thailand

Traveling in Nakhon Phanom province in North-East Thailand

Traveling in Lampang province in North Thailand

Facebook and other social media

If I can not hide myself then I hope my colour scares you

Old cemeteries in Indonesia